The Rowella Community Hall has had a long and vibrant history of service to the residents of the former Richmond Hill and West Bay district. The Hall was built as the Presbyterian Church of the Beaconsfield gold field. The Hall boasts the fine high timbered walls of a Federation era church and the acoustics are excellent.
When the Beaconsfield mine closed in 1917, the church was purchased by public subscription and moved on a bullock dray to its current site on the border of Kayena and Rowella. This was the location of a booming apple and pear orchard industry with investors and new residents arriving from India, New Zealand and other colonial countries. Today it is the centre of the verdant wine, salmon and agricultural triangle of the north, and residents hail from many international, mainland and Tasmanian locations bringing with them an appreciation of fine wine, food and music.
The Rowella Hall has served the community well, hosting bridal showers, dances, birthdays, farewells and welcome home wartime celebrations. For ninety years, it was the home of rural theatre provided by the Rowella Players and later the Rowella Drama Club. The cricket pitch prepared first grade trophy winners and the oval, playground, and tennis court provided exercise and games for clubs and families of all ages. There are public and wheelchair accessible toilets and a green room off the Stage for actors and musicians.
The Rowella Community are proud to host the Festival of Small Halls and welcome people from all walks of life, for what is sure to be a fantastic night.
Tickets are available online here or from the Tamar Visitor Centre, Exeter.
Proudly supported by the West Tamar Council